h1

Important Announcement

July 12, 2008

For the past 10 months I have delighted in writing about my experiences and observations on life in Matawan-Aberdeen.  I have eaten great meals at many great local restaurants and eateries, and I was only too happy to share the experiences.  I have been lucky enough to garner a following of awesome readers, and as a result, I have met some of you in person as well.  That has been the most fulfilling aspect of writing.

Living in Monmouth County has been fun and enlightening in a lot of ways. In addition to all the wonderful delicious epicurean experiences, I’ve enjoyed the beaches, the nightlife, the culture, and co-mingling with the locals.  I’m a person that thrives off of experiences and societal interaction.  I love to learn new things, be immersed in my surroundings, be active and involved in community, and “pay it forward” to others.  I like to make differences in people’s lives; and I feel, in turn, they will make a difference in mine.

I had very high hopes of my time here, not only personally, but publicly.  Many of those hopes were realized.  Some were not.  I will not go into detail about those “dashed hopes”, however I prefer to focus on the positives, which I have noted above.

My time here in Matawan-Aberdeen is, sadly, coming to a close. I’m at a juncture where my life must change again.  I will be moving away from Matawan-Aberdeen, and back to my beloved Philadelphia, come September.  It came with a lot of deep thought and consideration.

This public announcement is two-fold:  I felt I owe it you, my readers, to know what the future holds for me and Exit 117A.  I want to assure you that I will not be deleting this blog.  In fact, this is partially why I have offered the opportunity for readers of this blog, or local writers, to contribute.  Come September I doubt I will be writing much here, if at all, since I won’t be living in the area.

I think for a hyper local blog to have just shy of 20,000 hits in under a year is a good thing.  I am glad that it has become a great resource of information to a lot of people.  I really hope it will continue to be just that.  This is NOT a goodbye, I promise. I’m not going to totally abandon this blog.  However, I’d like to offer, again, the opportunity for fans/readers of this site to contribute.  Please let me know if you would like to write for this blog and keep it going!

Thank you all so much!

Marilyn/Exit 117A

5 comments

  1. Oh Marilyn!!! Now we must meet up before you move away! I will surely miss your writings….And hope to contribute soon myself….


  2. So sorry to hear this.


  3. You’ll be sorely missed. We wish you the very best.


  4. Wish you all the best in your future endeavors. Sorry to see you leave the area.


  5. For the past 10 months I have delighted in writing about my experiences and observations on life in Matawan-Aberdeen. I have eaten great meals at many great local restaurants and eateries, and I was only too happy to share the experiences. I have been lucky enough to garner a following of awesome readers, and as a result, I have met some of you in person as well. That has been the most fulfilling aspect of writing.



Leave a Reply

