h1

Starbucks Pike Place Roast

April 9, 2008

A tolerable alternative to most Starbucks offeringsI’m by no means a fan of Starbucks coffee. I’m not a frequent patron, but once in a while, especially if it the only coffee around, I will partake in their caffeinated offerings. For some reason, when they announced a new blend of coffee, Pike Place Roast, my interest was piqued. So I dropped into the local Starbucks on Main Street this morning to get some.

Verdict: it’s not half bad. It doesn’t have that signature burned taste that most Starbucks coffee has. It’s still a darker, stronger coffee, but seems less bitter than their other brews. I daresay, I kind of enjoyed it! Will I frequent Starbucks more often as a result? Have I discovered my new favorite coffee? Nah. It certainly didn’t sweep me off my feet. But it’s good to know there is actually a (generic) coffee they offer that I can actually tolerate.

5 comments

  1. coffeefool.com is the stuff i drink. not burnt…it arrives 2 days after they roast it. :P talk about FRESH.


  2. Hey Jersey,
    Thanks for the heads up on that. Coffee addict that I am, I may have to check them out. :)


  3. thanks for the review!! there’s been so much hype about this new roast, but it’s been hard to figure out whether it’s actually worth trying out or not.
    that said, i am still a dunkin’ gal, but it’s nice to know that there is a slightly less noxious brew to get at starbucks next time i NEED a giant rice krispy treat :)


  4. I used to frequent Starbucks on a regular basis when I lived in Red Bank a few years back, and I still grab it occasionally if I’m passing by one and the caffeine is calling. I agree that most of their coffee has a bitter, burnt quality to it, although some of their milder blends are okay. However, when I wake up on a weekend morning and crave a cup of coffee, the only place I think of and will drive to is Dunkin’. I think that says it all.

    Although I have yet to try it, I’ve heard that McDonald’s actually has very good coffee these days. They are certainly trying to capitalize on it in the marketplace and have even set up special coffee areas in some locations with big, comfortable chairs (a la Starbucks) and a little atmosphere. Just wondering if anyone has tried McDonald’s coffee lately, and if so, maybe you could let us know the verdict?


  5. Hey Shirker,

    Always good to hear from a fellow coffee drinker. I agree Dunkin’ is good, but probably not my favorite. I actually enjoy convenience store coffee — Wawa, QuickChek, even 7-11. I like being able to “create” it to my liking. QuickChek actually offers soy or lactose-free milk FOR FREE! You have to pay extra at Sbux. I can’t have regular milk or cream because I’m lactose-intolerant, so this is very important to me. I don’t mind black coffee, in fact there are times I prefer it. However, I also enjoy “creamy” coffee from time to time, too.

    I have heard about McDonald’s improved coffee, but haven’t tried it yet. Supposedly quality is better than Starbucks, at a fraction of the price. I may just have to try it now. ;)

    Don’t be a stranger!



Leave a Reply

