h1

Peter’s Fishery

March 28, 2008

Peter’s Fishery

If you’re looking for upscale seafood cuisine, Peter’s Fishery is not for you. If you go in with an open mind, not expecting fine dining, it’ll be a fair to good experience for you as it was for us on our first visit this past week.

While it claims to be an “American Seafood Bistro”, Peter’s resembles a diner atmosphere more than fine dining establishment. The extensive menu offers a wide variety of appetizers and dishes that is sure to please the seafood lover looking for good-sized portions. There are also non-seafood items on the menu as well to accommodate those who do not or cannot eat seafood. At least two all you can eat specials were going on that evening – Snow Crab and Shrimp – which I’m sure is quite popular. We were not in the AYCE mood, however.

We started off with the fried calamari appetizer. It came out hot and nicely crispy. I opted for the Grilled Swordfish with a sweet potato on the side. While the swordfish was tasty, it certainly was not grilled. It was delivered to me broiled. I would normally send food back if it were not prepared the way I requested, but I decided to just go ahead and eat the 2 filets as is. It wasn’t bad, though I must say the star on the plate was the baked sweet potato. Then again, I love sweet potatoes.

He got the “Sauteed Seafood Combination”, which includes lobster, clams, scallops, and monkfish over his choice of penne pasta. He noted it was “fine.” He’s a big seafood lover, so it really takes a lot to wow him.

Overall, it was a “fine”, but not a fine dining, experience. Service was quick and pleasant, which was nice; then again we were 1 of maybe 5 other parties in the whole place. In any case, we don’t plan to rush back any time soon. We will look to other local fisheries for a seafood fix in the future.

2 out of 5 stars.

4 comments

  1. I agree with your two stars 100%. Your assessment was dead on I think the food and service is good at best.
    I am amazed at the crowd they get every night! Kudos to Peters for packing the place I do enjoy seeing Matawan establishments busy.
    BTW I often stop there to pick up uncooked fish for dinner, it is always fresh.


  2. Ah, I didn’t know they sold fresh (uncooked) fish for takeout. That’s good to know!


  3. If you’re going to look for other fisheries for a seafood fix, I would suggest Dino’s. It’s about a 5 minute drive from Downtown Matawan, in the Hazlet Plaza (the strip mall on 35 North that has the Gulf station, across 35 from the PathMark/TGIFriday’s mall). Not 5 star service, but the food is great!


  4. I’m surprised by the comments. I have been there quite a few times and love the laid back atmosphere. Every dish I have gotten has been delicious, and the service has been excellent. The value is undeniable as well – I always have a doggy bag!



Leave a Reply

