h1

Oishi Sushi – Hazlet

March 5, 2008

Oishi Sushi Japanese Restaurant, Hazlet NJ

My fellow food blogging enthusiast Dani swears by it, so I figured it was high time we checked out Oishi Sushi Japanese Restaurant in Hazlet.

Overall, I’ll have to say it was pretty good. The only area of concern was the service – it was a bit slower than we would have liked. Sure, it was a Friday night after all, however the dining room was far from crowded. It appeared they could have used another server.

sushi platterAnyways, my special rolls (Everything and Jungle) were fantastic. His Fantasy roll and salmon special were quite delicious as well. The only thing I will have to remember in the future – and this is possibly anywhere – if it says “BBQ” on the menu: don’t order! The BBQ squid appetizer I ordered was entirely too spicy hot for me. So he ate most of it since he can handle the hot stuff.

Regardless, I’m definitely putting it on the “to go back to” list.

3.5 stars out of 5. Simply for slow service.

4 comments

  1. So glad you tried it! I will agree with you on service, we’ve had nights where it’s been painfully slow even when there weren’t many tables there. Never had anything BBQ there. Thanks for the warning. I avoid spicy stuff, so I tend to ask them when I order something new so I’m not surprised. But I wouldn’t have thought BBQ would be spicy.


  2. Well, I don’t recall on the menu it saying “with a spicy sauce”, but on the take out menu it does say it. Weird. When I see the word spicy, I avoid it like the plague. Does too much to my stomach, not to mention too hot on the tongue. :)

    Anyways, thanks for the head’s up, we’ll definitely try it again.


  3. Marilyn
    It sounds like Oishi is a definite stop for me in the ultimate sushi search.
    But my comment is about another restaurant in Sea Bright. Since much of the dining you mention involves sushi I would like to share this gem with you. The name of the restaurant Yumi and they take sushi to the next level. While we have many good sushi restaurants in Monmouth County, Yumi should be at the top of the list. If you get the opportunity to go make sure you try the sashimi plate. Ask for wasabi flowers aside from the three sauces that come with it…you won’t be disappointed.
    5 stars out of 5


  4. Gene,
    You sound like us. Always up for a sushi adventure!

    Oishi was pretty good, yeah. As for Yumi, we did attempt to go there one time, but the wait was like 1 hour, and we just didn’t feel like waiting. I had heard good things about it and really wanted to try it. Always meant to go back another time, possibly when less busy, but just haven’t found ourselves in Sea Bright area as of late. It’s still on the to go list, though. :)



Leave a Reply

