h1

3 Bean Turkey Chili

November 10, 2007

As y’all know, I love to go out to eat and write about it! However, I also LOVE to cook and I’m pretty good at it, if I do say so myself!

Today started off damp and chilly; it seemed to be the perfect day for a nice hot chili! I’m not opposed to the traditional chili with ground beef, but I like ground turkey and chicken, too. I’ve made this recipe with cooked chicken breast in the past as well. It’s a winner every time!

It’s not necessarily original, but here’s my recipe in case you’re wondering.

Marilyn’s 3 Bean Turkey Chili

1 large yellow onion
1 large green pepper
1 lb. or so of ground turkey
Diced tomatoes with green chiles (1 can)
Diced tomatoes (1 can plain)
Tomato sauce (1 small can)
Tomato paste (1 small can)
Dash or two or three of original Tabasco sauce
A few dashes of Worcestershire sauce
Chicken (or beef) broth (1 c. – depending on your preference)
Chili seasoning mix packet (or chili powder, cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder)
Ground cumin
Kosher salt
Ground pepper
Brown sugar (a couple tbsp.) (optional)
Black beans (drained)
Dark red kidney beans (drained)
Pinto beans (drained)

Cook onions, green pepper, and ground turkey in a dutch oven or stockpot until cooked through. Add wet ingredients (diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, Tabasco, Worcestershire, and broth) and stir to combine. Add spices and brown sugar (if using) and stir to combine. Simmer for about 10-20 minutes. Drain beans and add to pot. Simmer for 45 minutes or so.

Trust me, you’ll love it! :)

2 comments

  1. An excellent recipe. I’ve also browned some boneless chicken breasts in a skillet, shredded them in the food processor and used it if I was out of ground turkey. This is an easy dish to make in a slow cooker if you have one. Finally, don’t rinse your beans under the faucet…I’ve been told that this removes many of the nutrients from the beans.


  2. Thanks! Yeah, I’ve done that with chicken, too. But I usually end up shredding by hand for thicker chunks!

    I have an old slow cooker that my fiance’s grandma gave me. I don’t use it often, though. I should.

    I don’t rinse the beans, no. Just drain the liquid out of the cans.



Leave a Reply

