h1

Shop Rite vs. Stop & Shop

November 3, 2007

When I lived in Red Bank, 9 out of 10 times I would do my grocery shopping at the Foodtown. It was mostly for convenience and I had gotten used to its layout. Not to mention the Super Stop & Shop on Newman Springs Road did not overly impress me. I guess it didn’t impress many others either – according to this blurb it’s closing down and will re-open as a Super Foodtown.  Huh.

So when we moved here to Matawan, the big question was “Where am I going to do my grocery shopping?” I asked my local friend Jokerelli what grocery stores were in the area. He said I had 2 choices: Shop Rite or Stop & Shop, both of which are in Aberdeen.

I’ve always liked Shop Rite. It’s got a nice selection of produce, lots of prepared food items (Sushi! Chinese!), and big selection of just about everything else. So that’s where I’ve been doing most of my shopping.

However, on a whim, I popped into the Shop & Stop this evening. It’s big, clean, and surprisingly has a impressive selection of just about everything. In fact, unlike the one on Newman Springs Road, this one has whole aisle devoted to International foods! Lots of Asian/Thai/Indian/Spanish/European items! It’s also got a large area of strictly organic/health food stuff, too. Big pharmacy, housewares, rental movies, even a “Dollar Zone”. Color me impressed! I think I will be popping in more often.

I must say it’s good to have 2 great options for food/grocery shopping nearby. :)

12 comments

  1. This ShopRite stinks. They redid it a few years ago and the selection of items really shrunk. The bakery is not so hot and I resent that you are forced to walk through those shops, “specials” piles and florists before you get to the actual foodstuffs. Also, the door is stupid. Also, the parking plan is stupid.


  2. I’ll have to agree with you, I don’t like the parking lot very much. I, too, am not overly fond with the store layout, especially the entrance/exit. The door can be a challenge if there are a lot of people going in and out.

    Do you do most of your shopping at the Stop & Shop?


  3. Mostly ,but I get around so I try to get to A&Ps whenever I can.


  4. I really prefer Stop & Shop. I only go to Shop Rite when I need Italian Bread, I love their bread. But the layout confuses me and I HATE!!!!!! the revolving door. When I shop I like to move fast and it is reallllllly slow.


  5. Hey! Just discovered your site! Welcome to Matawan!

    I get lost in ShopRite – SnS has a superior fish department and bakery – and a fantastic Organic goods selection in ALL departments – but their standard produce is downright scary.

    Ah! Thanks for giving Matawan a web-presence with a voice! XD


  6. Hey! Just discovered your site! Welcome to Matawan!

    I get lost in ShopRite – SnS has a superior fish department and bakery – and a fantastic Organic goods selection in ALL departments – but their standard produce is downright scary.

    Ah! Thanks for giving Matawan a web-presence with a voice! XD


  7. Hey DweedieCat!

    I have to agree with you, if I have to pick between ShopRite or Stop & Shop for produce, ShopRite definitely wins. It’s a shame that I have not yet taken advantage of the farmer’s markets along 34 yet. I really MUST do that!

    In any case, I’ve been tending to go to Shop & Shop more. But I did go to ShopRite last weekend. I like to break it up every once in a while. ;)

    Thanks for posting!


  8. Speaking of the farmer’s markets, one of my favorites is Samahas on Lloyd Road. They are small enough to have the freshest produce. The Wemrock pies are too sweet – I wish they’d find another supplier.

    Campobellos has a fun variety of Italian goods and a fine meats/cold cuts section, but the produce suffers.


  9. I’m a Shop Rite fan, I think their prices are better than anybody else’s, generally speaking. Though I do agree that the parking at the Aberdeen store wasn’t designed by somebody with much common sense.


  10. I lived in Monmouth county from 1984 to 1991.

    Seemed like the only supermarkets around was Foodtown.

    Ray


  11. I’d have to test with you here. Which is not one thing I normally do! I enjoy reading a publish that can make people think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!


  12. I went there with Mumbo yesterday. Once inside the grand revolving doors, there was not a basket in sight. There was a basket… ball… room… constructed of 12-pack soda boxes. There was a bank… a frickin’ jewelry store… but we didn’t see those little red baskets until we got by the registers… where the Shoprite kids were hanging out. And the parking lot is just their way of saying, “please stay home and visit our website.”



Leave a Reply

