h1

West Lake Authentic Chinese Restaurant

October 7, 2007

Last evening we decided to dine out.  We felt we deserved it and upon a quick check of the finances, we figured we could do Chinese.  So we checked out West Lake Authentic Chinese Restaurant on Route 34. I had heard/read mostly good things about it on the Chowhound board so I was excited to try it.

Our synopsis is that it was pretty good.   We were seated immediately and were treated to salted nuts and pickled veggies.  As well as ice water and tea in a pot.
He had the egg drop soup and I ordered cold sesame noodles for starters.  The noodles were great.  The pickled vegetables were also served with the noodles, which made for a tasty combination.

His main course was the Jumbo Shrimp which was pretty good.

I ordered the Eggplant, Bean Curd, and Peppers in Black Bean Sauce.  There was no “Hot & Spicy” denotation by it on the menu, so I thought I was safe.  The eggplant, bean curd (tofu), and sauce were all fine, but the pepper was one of the hottest things I have ever tried!  I can’t take spicy hot too much.  My mouth was on fire!  I drank a whole glass of water and had to request more. Needless to say, I won’t be trying that dish again.

Otherwise, it was fine, service was fine.  So we’ll probably try it again.  I definitely want to check out their dim sum on the weekends!

Leave a Reply

